Generating opportunities for locals and visitors to create, share and experience art and culture.

The Platypus Gallery exhibits the work of Forbes Arts Society members, as well as various travelling exhibitions featuring visiting artists. The exhibited works vary greatly from paintings and drawings in all media, ceramics, fine wood turning, jewellery and photography. 

The building itself has had a long history as a pharmacy and prior to that a saddlery stood on the site from the gold rush days.

Our Vision

To develop the arts and in particular Sculpture Down the Lachlan so that Tourism will become a major product of the Forbes Shire and Central West NSW

Our objectives are to:

  • To establish a permanent world class sculpture trail from Forbes to Condobolin
    via the Lachlan Valley Way (South Condobolin Road)

  • to foster the visual arts, and to encourage their enjoyment in the communities of our region and tourists passing through the region

  • Develop and nurture a fellowship of artists

  • Run classes, workshops and demonstrations for members and the community of the region

  • Provide and maintain a studio where the fellowship may meet and where the teaching and learning in above may take place

  • Support the development, maintenance and operation of an Art Gallery

  • Run competitions and exhibitions to be displayed in the Gallery or other suitable locations

  • Seek appropriate funding including grants, sponsorships and the charging of fees

  • Funds raised by events and activities must be of the highest quality and be consistent with our vision

  • Exhibit our art for display and/or sale

  • Liaise and affiliate with any organisation supporting our objectives and to carry out other activities consistent with the Aim and Objectives 

Our Board

President: Dr Karen Ritchie
Vice President: Helen Hurley
Honorary Secretary: vacant
Honorary Treasurer: Stuart Thomas
Ordinary Member: Warwick Rolfe
Ordinary Member: Wendy Muffet
Ordinary Member: Helen Mallick
Ordinary Member: Joy Russell
Ordinary Member: Dr Keith Mullette